Awards and Prizes

UTS academic wins 2016 Wang Gungwu Prize

An article about cultural and personal flows across the Bay of Bengal in pre-independence India has been awarded the 2016 Wang Gungwu Prize. Asian Studies Association of Australia (ASAA) president Professor Kent Anderson announced that Devleena Ghosh, an associate professor at the University of Technology Sydney, had been awarded the prestigious annual award for the […]


Entries sought for resource on women and Islam

Entries are being sought for the Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures Online. Southeast and East Asian regional editor Professor Kathy Robinson is seeking authors for the encyclopedia’s next supplement, on early 20th century post-colonial history, which is due for publication in December 2017. Papers of up to 10,000 words are required by June 2017 The […]

Singapore Management University, Wee Kim Wee Centre Directorship Singapore Management University is seeking to appoint a senior scholar to the directorship of the Wee Kim Wee Centre, first established as the Centre for Cross Cultural Studies. SMU is seeking a dynamic and well-established academic leader, who possesses a PhD in a relevant social sciences/humanities field. The […]

Load More Articles