John Legge Prize

John Legge Prize

John Legge Prize

The ASAA is delighted to announce that we are now accepting nominations for the John Legge Prize for the best thesis in Asian studies in Australia in 2021 .

Please see below for further details, regulations and the nomination form. The closing date for the current round of nominations has been extended to midnight, 21 May, 2022.

The Prize

The first prize consists of a cash award of $2,000. The writer of the selected thesis will also receive a certificate and priority consideration for publication in one of the ASAA monograph series.

A prize of $1,000 may be awarded to a second outstanding thesis.

Judging panel:


Dr Sophie Chao (Sydney University)

Associate Professor James Leibold (Latrobe University)

Dr Kayoko Hashimoto (University of Queensland)


Associate Professor Michael Barr (Flinders University)
Professor Devleena Ghosh (University of Technology Sydney)
Professor Anne McLaren (The University of Melbourne)

In 2022 the thesis must have been conferred by an Australian university in 2021.

The thesis must deal wholly with a country or countries of Asia or with Australia’s relationship with Asia.

The thesis must be in humanities or social sciences disciplines, broadly defined.

Nominations for the next John Legge Prize or the Best Thesis in Asian Studies in 2021 are now open.

Those who wish to be considered for the prize will be required to fill out the John Legge Prize form and submit a nomination letter prepared by two current ASAA members outlining the merits of the thesis (maximum of two pages), a copy of the thesis and thesis examination reports (where possible) to the ASAA John Legge prize page by April 30, 2022.

The ASAA Executive will appoint a small committee of ASAA Council members (3-5 people) to review applications on their merits. 

  • 8 February 2022: Applications open
  • 30 April 2022: Applications close
  • Announcement of winner TBA (expected mid-year)

Not a Current ASAA Member?

You can join or renew your ASAA Membership here.

Expand your professional network

Learn about Asian events and studies

Be recognised and supported