Professor Wang Gungwu recognised in Queen’s Birthday Honours

The ASAA is pleased to congratulate Professor Wang Gungwu who has been recognised as an Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia as part of the 2018 Queen’s Birthday Honours. The citation notes this honour was awarded “For distinguished service to tertiary education as an academic and researcher, particularly to far […]

Postdoctoral Fellowship awarded to Dr Hannah Loney

The 2017 ASAA Postdoctoral Fellowship has been awarded to Dr. Hannah Loney for a project on violence, biopolitics, and family planning in Indonesian-occupied East Timor. Dr. Loney, who was awarded her PhD at the University of Melbourne in May 2017, will be completing her fellowship at the same university. She was chosen for the fellowship […]

Dr Annie McCarthy wins 2017 John Legge prize for best PhD thesis

A thesis exploring the lives of children from slums in Delhi and their engagement with the programs of a media NGO has won the prize for best thesis on Asia conferred in 2016. The 2017 John Legge Prize for the Best Thesis in Asian Studies has been awarded to Dr Annie McCarthy, Australian National University, […]