

# 24 December 2016 – Message from President

24 December 2016

Dear ASAA members,

# News from the ASAA

### Winners of the Presidents' Prize for Best Thesis.

This year's <u>best thesis prize</u> was awarded to Dr Jess Melvin of Melbourne University for her thesis 'Mechanics of Mass Murder: How the Indonesian Military Initiated and Implemented the Indonesian Genocide—The Case of Aceh'.

The runner up prize was awarded toLe Hoang Ngoc Yen of ANU for her thesis 'Living Leprosy in Vietnam: Care, Affliction and Agency in the Shadows of a Cure '. Once again, the standard of the thesis submitted was outstanding and the process of selecting a winner very difficult.

Hearty congratulations to Dr Melvin and Dr Le, and their supervisors and nominators for this outstanding achievement.

Thanks also are due to the hardworking committee that read and assessed all the submitted theses.

# Name change for Presidents' Prize in honour of Professor John Legge

As noted at the 2016 AGM, we have sought permission from Professor John Legge's children to name the Thesis Prize after Professor Legge. We have received permission from the family and so from 2017 the Presidents' Prize for Best Thesis in Asian Studies will be renamed 'The John Legge Prize for the Best Thesis in Asian Studies awarded at an Australian university.'

### 2017-2018 ASAA Council and Executive Confirmed

As you would have seen from recent communications from ASAA Secretary, Dr Amrita Mahli, the next council and Executive have been confirmed as:

President–Professor Kent Anderson (UWA) Vice-President–Professor Ed Aspinall (ANU) Secretary–Professor Sandra Wilson (Murdoch) Treasurer–Professor Colin Brown (Griffith) General Councillor–Professor Robert Cribb (ANU) Southeast Asia Councillor–Dr Vanessa Hearman (CDU) South Asia Councillor–Dr Michael Gillan (UWA) Japan and Korea Councillor–Dr Rebecca Suter (USyd) China Councillor— Associate Professor James Leibold (LaTrobe)

West/Central Asia Councillor–Dr David Radford (UniSA)

Ex-Officio positions include:

ASR Editor–Associate Professor Michael Barr (Flinders)

Publications Officer–Dr Ernest Koh (Monash)

**Immediate Past President**–Professor Louise Edwards (UNSW)Thank you to all you stood for election and thank you for your willingness to serve the profession and build Asian Studies in Australia. We look forward to a host of new activities in 2017 with our new Council and Executive.Thanks are also due to our outgoing council members: Dr Seiko Yasumoto (USyd), Associate Professor Gerry Groot (Adelaide), Dr Shoko Yoneyama (Adelaide), Dr Amrita Mahli (Adelaide), Dr Yeow-Tong Chia (USyd); Mr Tets Kimura (Flinders)

#### ASAA Women's Forum News: 11th Women in Asia Conference 2017

The 11th ASAA's 'Women in Asia Conference 2017' will be held at UWA 26-28 September 2017.

Papers and Panels are now being sought. For more information visit the <u>Conference</u> <u>Website</u>

The Convenors Dr Laura Dales and Professor Lyn Parker welcome you to Perth for Spring. Spread the word!

Information on previous 'Women in Asia' conferences and the WIA subscriber email list can be found on the <u>ASAA page</u>

# **Upcoming Events**

#### Affiliated Association Conference:

Japanese Studies Association of Australia Biennial Conference 26-30 June 2017at the University of Wollongong— Call for Papers Now Open <u>Chinese Studies Association of Australia Biennial Conference</u> 10-12 July 2017 at Macquarie University — Call for Papers Now Open

Events are also posted on the ASAA website calendar.

#### Follow Asian Currents on Twitter

Promote great commentary and insight by *Asian Currents'* authors by following us on <u>Twitter</u>.

Best wishes for the summer break,

Louise Edwards President Asian Studies Association of Australia