Nominations for the 2021 John Legge Prize for the Best Thesis in Asian Studies are now open.

2021 Round: Due 30 April 2021



The thesis must have been conferred by an Australian university in 2020.

The thesis must deal wholly with a country or countries of Asia or with Australia’s relationship with Asia.

The thesis must be in humanities or social sciences disciplines, broadly defined


Those who wish to be considered for the prize should fill out the John Legge Prize form (below) and submit a nomination letter prepared by two current ASAA members outlining the merits of the thesis (maximum of two pages), a copy of the thesis and thesis examination reports (where possible) to the ASAA John Legge prize page by April 30, 2021.

The Prize

The first prize consists of a cash award of $2,000. The writer of the selected thesis will also receive a certificate and priority consideration for publication in one of the ASAA monograph series.

A prize of $1,000 may be awarded to a second outstanding thesis.

Judges for 2021:

Associate Professor Michael Barr (Flinders University)

Professor Devleena Ghosh (University of Technology Sydney)

Professor Anne McLaren (The University of Melbourne)