Latest Issue

Asian Studies Review: A multidisciplinary journal of contemporary and modern Asia Volume 42, Issue 3, 2018

See the full journal content here

Survive and Thrive: Field Research in Authoritarian Southeast Asia – Lee Morgenbesser and Meredith L. Weiss

The Interactional Nature of Emotion Work in Thai Marriages: Anger, Romance and Guilt – Natcharee Suwannapat

Lost Palaces, Lost History: The Wang of Bangkok’s Rattanakosin – Ross King and Piyamas Lertnapakun

The Legacy of the Vietnam War: Making a Living amid Unexploded Ordnance in Xieng Khouang Province, Northern Laos – Kiengkay Ounmany and Edo Andriesse

Decentralised Institutions and Electoral Authoritarianism: The Case of Town Councils in Singapore – Hoi-Yu Ng

Explaining the 2016 Islamist Mobilisation in Indonesia: Religious Intolerance, Militant Groups and the Politics of Accommodation – Marcus Mietzner and Burhanuddin Muhtadi

Seductive Alienation: The American War of Life Rearticulated in Occupied Japan – Ji Hee Jung

The India-Iran-Pakistan Triad: Comprehending the Correlation of Geo-economics and Geopolitics – Zahid Shahab Ahmed and Stuti Bhatnagar

Exploiting Sino-US Geostrategic Competition: The View from Seoul and Singapore – Jao Jeok Park and Erwin Tan

About Asian Studies Review

Asian Studies Review is a multidisciplinary journal of contemporary and modern Asia. The journal sets out to showcase high-quality scholarship on the modern histories, cultures, societies, languages, politics and religions of Asia through the publication of research articles, book reviews and review articles.

It welcomes the submission of research articles from across the broad spectrum of social sciences and humanities on all Asian regions and on international and transnational issues in which Asia is the major focus.

Asian Studies Review aims to publish a balanced mixture of articles in traditional and emerging disciplines.  The invited review articles and book reviews reflect both the scholarship on display and the broader world of Asian Studies.

From 1977 until 1990 Asian Studies Review was known as the ASAA Review.  It joined Blackwell Publishing in 1998 and moved to Taylor & Francis in 2004.

Peer review

All research articles undergo rigorous double-blind peer review based on initial screening by the editor and two anonymous referees. All reviews, invited opinion, and reflective papers also undergo editorial screening and peer review.


David Hundt, Deakin University (incoming)

Michael Barr, Flinders University (outgoing)

Past editors

2009-2012: Peter Jackson,  Australian National University
2004-2009: Maila Stivens, University of Melbourne
1998-2004: Kam Louie, University of Queensland and Australian National University
1993-1998: Leon Comber, Monash University
1990-1992: Robert Elson, Griffith University
1977-1989: Anthony Reid, John Caiger, Jamie Mackie, Anthony Milner and Virginia Hooker, Australian National University.