The ASAA funds the following prizes, awards and grants.

John Legge Prize for best thesis in Asian Studies

Prize winners receive  $2,000 AUD cheque, award certificate, books to the value of $500 AUD from DK Agencies (The DK Award) and priority consideration for publication in one of the ASAA book series. Runner-up Prize winners receive $1,000 AUD and an award certificate.

ASAA Event Funding Scheme

Every two years, the ASAA funds up to two workshops, symposia or conferences, with grants worth up to $10,000 AUD each.

Wang Gungwu Prize for best Asian Studies Review Article

A Wang Gungwu Prize selection panel drawn from members of the ASAA Council and Executive selects a winner each year. Prize winners receive $1500 AUD cheque and free Open Access for their article from Taylor and Francis. Prior to 2013 the prize was known as the ‘Best ASR Article Prize’. The Prize was renamed in honour of Professor Wang Gungwu, the distinguished historian who has contributed enormously to scholarship not only in Australia but also in Malaysia, Hong Kong and Singapore.  He was also a key person behind the formation of the ASAA in 1976 and has served as its President.

ASAA Postdoctoral Fellowship

Post-Doctoral Fellowship winners receive $5000 AUD to assist PhD graduates to develop work for publication.

2014 – Catherine Smith – ANU – ‘War, medicine and morality in Aceh: an ethnography of trauma as an idiom of distress

Postgraduate Conference Awards

Ten grants are available for the July 2016 conference–closing date April 10 2016.